“Intricacy” of phrasing a sentence

Right at about 31:53 moment, the video above(“Are You Destined to Deal?” With Goldman Sachs Managing Director Jim Donovan) shows Jim-Donovan saying

I’m not gonna (let you) do that, it is not good for YOU.

And he emphasized the importance of not just saying “That’s wrong / false”

At that moment, I realized the importance of the ‘intricacy’ of phrasing the words.

 

It really occurred to me HARD, that “That’s Wrong” and “It’s not good for you” has a VERY different feeling/emotions attached to it, but are basically Equivalent, in terms of the information being delivered.

Man, totally Illogical, but true. I think I would like to say “No, ~~ because it is not good for You” more often. Because if I am going to deliver a bad-news(relatively speaking), I would as well like to make my company(client) feel a little bit better about themselves.

What a power that a single ‘phrase’ has. It can break someone’s heart, but also totally make someone fall in love with them. Interesting. This, is what studying Science doesn’t teach you about. Very interesting.

Leave a comment